Road Trip (comic book script)

Road Trip

 

Page 1

Panel 1

Overhead shot:  Todd is lying on his bed looking up at the ceiling.

TODD – thought bubble

I miss Sarah so much.  I can’t believe we broke up just because we went to colleges on different coasts.

Panel 2

 Medium shot: Todd is siting up on his bed staring out the window of the NYC skyline.

TODD – thought bubble

I wonder what Sarah is doing?

Panel 3

Medium shot:  Sarah on the beach drinking beer by a fire.  She is surrounded by 3 surfer guys.

No text

Panel 4

  Medium shot:  Todd packs his backpack and grabs his key.

TODD

I got to go to LA and get her back.

Panel 5

Medium shot:  He drives out of the city with the skyline behind him.

No Text

 

Page Two

Panel 1

Top of Panel in bold it says “Day 1”. 

Medium shot: Todd is sitting at a picnic table drinking a cup of coffee outside a truck stop McDonalds. He looks sad.

TODD – thought bubble

What can I say to get her back?  I love her. I need to get her back.

            Panel 2

 Medium shot:  Still sitting at the picnic table drinking coffee with napkins and 3 empty coffee cups on the table. He looks really anxious and confused.

TODD – thought bubble

Why can’t I think of anything?

Panel 3

Spilt panel in half down the middle. Left side is close up: big smile on his face. Right side medium shot:   he starts writing on a napkin.

No text

Panel 4

Medium shot:  He is running in the parking with napkin in his hand.

No text

Panel 5

Medium shot: He sits in his car and puts the napkin on the dashboard.

TODD – thought bubble

I can’t wait to see her.

Panel 6

Medium shot: The car is back on the high way with other cars.

No text

 

Page three:

Panel 1

Top of panel in bold it says “Day 2”

Long shot:  The car parked on the side of the road.

No text

 

Panel 2

Close up of Todd asleep.

Panel 3

Long shot: The back of the car in the back ground and the back of a girl in the foreground.

No text

Panel 4

Spilt panel left side fist knocks on window with Text boom next to the fist. Right side close up: Todd’s startled face.

Panel 5

Close up of Todd’s nervous and tired face with window rolled down.

TODD

Ummm…. What do you want?

Panel 6

Medium shot: girl standing on the side of the road.

GIRL/ EMILY

Hi, I’m Emily.  Can I please please have a ride? I’m going to San Diego, but I will go any way west. I can give you gas money.

Panel 7

Medium shot: Todd opening the door.

TODD

Sure, but you got to drive.  I need to get some sleep. Go towards LA. Oh, and pay me now.

Panel 8

Medium shot:  Emily hand Todd a 50 dollar bill and Todd hands Emily the keys.

No text

Page four:

Panel 1

Top of panel in bold it says “Day 3”

Medium shot of Emily driving and Todd asleep.

No text besides day 3

Panel 2

Medium shot: Todd is awake and Emily is still driving.

EMILY

Good morning. So I’m going to Cali because I like to travel. I wanna hit every state before I die. What’s your name? Why LA?

Todd

I’m Todd. I’m going to visit my girlfriend. 

Panel 3

Close up: Emily’s face.  She looks really excited. Wide eyed and big smile.

EMILY

OMG.  That’s so cute. I’m a hopeless romantic. I love love like so much. It’s so cute. Tell me, how did you meet?  How did you know that you were in love with her?  How long have you been together? What is she like? I bet she is amazing and really pretty. Come on, tell me, please?

Panel 4

Close up: Todd’s blushing face.

No text.

 

Panel 5

Medium shot: Emily driving and Todd looking out the window.

EMILY

She is your girlfriend. You should be able to talk about why you like her?

Panel 6

Medium shot: Todd looking confused.

TODD

She is a cool girl.  I love her a lot.  I don’t know why. I just do. Okay.

 

Panel 7

Medium shot: Emily driving and Todd sitting next to her.

EMILY

Do you want to marry her?

TODD

Jezzus… I don’t know. I’ve never thought about it. We have been together for only 5 months. 

 

Page five:

Panel 1

Top of panel in bold it says “Day 4”.

The car parked on the side of the road. Road sign says 30 miles to Los Angeles.  Emily on one side of the car and Todd on the other.

No text besides day 4

Panel 2

Medium shot: Todd in the drivers seats driving and Emily in the passenger’s seat. Todd looks very nervous and his face is flushed.

EMILY

Are you okay?

Panel 3

Close up: Todd’s panicked face.

TODD

I don’t know if I can do this. Sarah isn’t my girlfriend any more.  She broke up with me when she got into USC. I’m trying to get her back.

Panel 4

Close up: Emily’s very excited and happy face.

EMILY

That’s the  most  romantic thing I’ve ever heard… but  what  if she  does not want  to  see you?

Panel 5

Close up: Todd looks even more horrified.

No text.

Panel 6

Close up: Emily sneezes.

No text.

Panel 7

Medium shot:  Todd driving and having a panic attack. Emily wiping her nose into Todd’s Napkin.

No text.

Panel 8

Medium shot:  Emily dropping the napkin out the window.

EMILY

Calm down.  It will be okay.  You just need to know what you want to say and it will be fine. I promise. 

 

Page six:

Panel 1

Close up: Todd looks shocked.

TODD – thought Bubble

SHIT. That was my love note to Sarah!

Panel 2

Close up:  Todd looking very angry at Emily

TODD

WHAT THE FUCK?!?  I needed that!! And you just threw it away!!

Panel 3

Medium shot: Todd driving and looking very upset. Emily crying and looking confused.

EMILY

What are you talking about?  What did I do? Slow down. You are going to get us killed!

TODD

The napkin, you idiot.  Didn’t you see the writing on it? That was my pan to get Sarah back and now it’s gone!

Panel 4

Medium shot: Todd still upset but calming down. Emily crying harder. 

EMILY

I’m sorry. I’m sorry. What did it say?

TODD

I don’t remember. I knew I should have never let you in the car. 

Panel 5

Close up: Emily crying.

EMILY

I’m sorry.  I really am. But, I’m sure if you just tell her how you feel. It will work out.

Panel 6

Medium shot: The car pulls into a dorm parking lot.

No text.

Panel 7

Medium shot: Todd and Emily just sit in the parked car. Emily looks sad and Todd is anxious but not angry any more.

TODD

Um. I’m sorry too. I shouldn’t have freaked out on you. Wait here. 

EMILY

It’s fine. I got a good feeling. I know you will get her back.  I can’t wait to meet her.

 

 

Page seven:

Panel 1

Medium shot:  Todd standing outside the dorm building.

TODD –thought bubble

Here goes nothing. 

Panel 2

Medium shot:  Todd knocks on Sarah’s door.

Sound effect:  Knock

Panel 3

Close up: Todd’s anxious face.

No text

Panel 4

Medium shot:  The door opening with Sarah’s shocked and unhappy face peeking out the door way.

No text.

Panel 5

Medium shot:  Todd pushing open the door with his arm and Sarah looking very uncomfortable.

TODD

I love you and I don’t want anyone else. Long distance can work if we want it too.

Panel 6

Medium shot:  Todd and Sarah standing in the living room. There is a guy on a couch watching TV in the background.  Sarah is looking at her feet and Todd at looking at Sarah.

SARAH

It’s time to move on. Don’t make this harder than it has to. I told you when we broke up, I don’t love you. 

Panel 7

Medium shot:  Todd looks behind him and sees the guy on the couch. Sarah stands there with her arms folded looking at her feet. 

TODD – thought bubble

Really? She wants that guy???

Panel 8

Long shot: Todd running down the hall way blushing. Sarah standing in the back of the hall way yelling to him.

SARAH

You are still my best friend, Todd. We can still be friends right?

 

Page eight:

Panel 1

Medium shot: Todd is walking outside the dorm building crying.

No Text.

Panel 2

Medium shot:  Emily is leaning up against the car and Todd is standing near the front of the car.

No text.

Panel 3

Close up: Emily looks nervous and excited to see Todd.

EMILY

Where is she? What happened?

Panel 4

Medium shot: Todd looking at his feet. Emily looking sad.

EMILY

Oh. Too bad. It’s her loss. Get in the car. I’ll buy you dinner. I’m starving.

 

 

Panel 5

Medium shot: They are hugging. Emily’s back is towards the reader. Todd is crying a little.

No text.

Panel 6

Close up: Todd is sitting in the car. He has a half fake smile.

 

TODD

I could really use a burger and a milk shake right now. 

Leave a Reply

